Available 7 Days/Week       MON - FRI  8am - 7pm       SAT - SUN  10am – 6pm
Call us (754) 701-3300
Apply Now

Six Miami Dolphins, led by quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, named to AFC Pro Bowl squad

MIAMI GARDENS — Six Miami Dolphins — quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, wide receiver Tyreek Hill, cornerback Jalen Ramsey, left tackle Terron Armstead, fullback Alec Ingold and running back Raheem Mostert — were named to the AFC squad for the 2024 Pro Bowl, the league announced Wednesday night.

Tagovailoa, Hill, Ingold and Mostert were named starters. This is the first time Miami has had four offensive starters named to the Pro Bowl since 1984.

This the first Pro Bowl selection for Tagovailoa, Mostert and Ingold.

This is the eighth consecutive Pro Bowl selection for Hill, the seventh consecutive for Ramsey and Armstead’s fifth overall and second consecutive Pro Bowl selection.

Another 12 Dolphins were named alternates including edge rusher Bradley Chubb, who suffered a season-ending knee injury last Sunday against Baltimore, defensive lineman Christian Wilkins, wide receiver Jaylen Waddle, safety Jevon Holland, long snapper Blake Ferguson, right tackle Austin Jackson, tight end Durham Smythe, cornerback Xavien Howard, returnman Braxton Berrios, right guard Robert Hunt, center Connor Williams and defensive lineman Zach Sieler.

The last time the Dolphins had four Pro Bowl starters selected was 2003.

The last time the Dolphins had six Pro Bowl selections on initial balloting was following the 2002 season.

The last time the Dolphins had five offensive players selected for the Pro Bowl on initial balloting was 1984 when the list was led by quarterback Dan Marino, which is the last time the Dolphins had four offensive starters (Marino, Duper, Newman and Stephenson).

The Dolphins also had five offensive players in the 1993 Pro Bowl but one was elevated after initially being selected as an alternate.

Pro Bowl selections are made by a combination of fan voting, players voting and coach voting with each counting for one-third of the total. Players and coaches voted Dec. 29.

The 2024 Pro Bowl Games, which feature skills competitions and a flag football game, are scheduled for Feb. 4 in Orlando at Camping World Stadium.

Peyton and Eli Manning will serve as AFC and NFC head coaches, respectively, once again.

The Pro Bowl was in Orlando for four consecutive years (2017-20). Last year’s event was in Las Vegas.

Tagovailoa (league-leading 4,451 yards passing, 28 touchdowns, 12 interceptions, 103.0 passer rating) is the first Dolphins quarterback to earn a Pro Bowl berth since Marino in 1995. He’s only the third quarterback in franchise history to earn a Pro Bowl spot in addition to Marino and Bob Griese, both Hall of Famers.

The 31-year-old Mostert (career-best 1,012 yards rushing, franchise-record 18 rushing touchdowns, 21 total touchdowns) joins Fred Taylor as the only running backs to make their first Pro Bowl at 31 years old or older. Mostert is Miami’s first 1,000-yard rusher since Jay Ajayi in 2016.

Ingold, who began his career as an undrafted rookie for Oakland in 2019, was also the team’s Walter Payton Man of the Year nominee this season. He has 13 receptions for a career-best 119 yards but more importantly he’s the lead blocker for Mostert and a rushing game that averages a league-best 5.0 yards per carry and is No. 5 in the league at 137.5 yards per game.

Hill (league-leading 1,717 yards, 12 touchdowns) has now been selected to the Pro Bowl in all eight NFL seasons, the first two as a return man. Hill’s 112 receptions this season are just seven short of the franchise record he established last season.

Ramsey, whose season started late due to left knee surgery to repair an injury he sustained in training camp, has only started nine games but he has three interceptions and five passes defended. 

Armstead, who made Pro Bowls after the 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2022 seasons, has made nine starts this season and captains an offensive line that leads the NFL in fewest quarterback hits (56) and is tied for fourth-fewest sacks (30).

For what it’s worth, Tagovailoa, the No. 5 pick in the 2020 draft, is the only one of the six Dolphins players named to the 2024 Pro Bowl squad that was drafted by Miami. Eight of the 12 Pro Bowl alternates were drafted by Miami.

The Dolphins (11-5) host Buffalo (10-6) on Sunday in a monumental game that will decide the AFC East title and the No. 2 seed in the AFC playoffs.

#fortlauderdale, #fortlauderdalemortgage, #fortlauderdalemortgagelender, #fortlauderdalemortgagerates #fortlauderdalemortgagebroker