Available 7 Days/Week       MON - FRI  8am - 7pm       SAT - SUN  10am – 6pm
Call us (754) 701-3300
Apply Now

Bam Adebayo named Eastern Conference reserve as lone Heat representative in NBA All-Star Game

WASHINGTON – For the third time in his career and for the second consecutive year, Bam Adebayo is an NBA All-Star. He also is the Miami Heat’s lone All-Star.

A week after the All-Star starters in each conference were decided in weighted balloting by fans, media and players, the seven reserves in each conference were announced Thursday, after balloting by conference coaches.

An All-Star in 2020 and ’23, Adebayo becomes the first Heat player selected to consecutive All-Star Games since Dwyane Wade and Chris Bosh in 2015 and ’16.

Jimmy Butler, an All-Star with the Heat in 2020 and ’22, was bypassed in the balloting by coaches, with each coach required to select at least three frontcourt players and two backcourt players as reserves, as well as two players at any position, but not allowed to vote for players on their own team.

Adebayo was selected despite missing 10 games this season. Butler has missed 15.

The balloting by conference coaches came with the Heat amid a  seven-game losing streak, a skid that was snapped with Wednesday night’s victory over the Sacramento Kings at Kaseya Center.

Despite uneven statistics this season, Adebayo has long had the respect of coaches for the type of defensive intensity and versatility that has become universally embraced.

Adebayo  joined Boston Celtics forward Jaylen Brown, Cleveland Cavaliers guard Donovan Mitchell, Philadelphia 76ers guard Tyrese Maxey, New York Knicks guard Jalen Brunson, Knicks forward Julius Randle and Orlando Magic forward Paolo Banchero as the seven East reserves.

Previously announced as the Eastern Conference starters were Milwaukee Bucks forward Giannis Antetokounmpo, 76ers center Joel Embiid, Celtics forward Jayson Tatum, Indiana Pacers guard Tyrese Haliburton and Bucks guard Damian Lillard.

Randle (shoulder) and Embiid (knee) both could possibly miss the All-Star Game, which would require NBA Commissioner Adam Silver to name replacements.

Among those bypassed as East reserves in the coaches’ voting were Myles Turner, Derrick White, Trae Young and Kristaps Porzingis.

The 2024 NBA All-Star Game is Feb 18 in Indianapolis.

Unlike during recent years when the All-Star Game was played with squads drafted by team captains, this year’s event is reverting to the format of Eastern Conference vs. Western Conference.

Named NBA Eastern Conference Player of the Week on Jan. 14, Adebayo this season is averaging 20.6 points, 10.6 rebounds, 4.2 assists, 1.03 blocks and 1.00 steals in 34.8 minutes per game, shooting .501 from the field and .781 from the line. He leads the Heat in points, assists, total rebounds, offensive rebounds, defensive rebounds, blocks, field goals made, double-figure scoring games, 20-point games, double-figure rebounding games and double-doubles.

On Jan. 24 against the Memphis Grizzlies, Adebayo posted a 15-point, 15-rebound double-double, including six assists and a career-high six blocks, becoming the first player in franchise history to reach at least each of those totals in a single game. His most recent double-double Wednesday night marked his 174th as a member of the Heat, fourth most in team history. He dished out his 100th assist of the season on Jan. 8 vs. Houston, marking his seventh consecutive year with at least 100 assists, tying for the second-most 100-assist seasons in Heat history.

Heat rookie Jaime Jaquez Jr. has been selected to participate in the Rising Stars game for first- and second-year players during the Friday of All-Star Weekend and is expected to be named to the dunk contest during All-Star Saturday.

Miami Heat All-Stars

1996: Alonzo Mourning.

1997: Mourning*, Tim Hardaway.

1998: Hardaway.

2000: Mourning (starter).

2001: Mourning* (starter), Anthony Mason** (starter).

2002: Mourning.

2005: Shaquille O’Neal (starter), Dwyane Wade, Stan Van Gundy (coach).

2006: O’Neal (starter), Wade (starter).

2007: O’Neal (starter), Wade (starter).

2008: Wade (starter).

2009: Wade (starter).

2010: Wade (starter).

2011: LeBron James (starter), Wade (starter), Chris Bosh.

2012: James (starter), Wade (starter), Bosh.

2013: Bosh** (starter), James (starter), Wade (starter), Erik Spoelstra (coach).

2014: James (Ssarter), Wade (starter), Bosh.

2015: Bosh, Wade*.

2016: Wade (starter), Bosh*.

2018: Goran Dragic.

2019: Wade.

2020:  Bam Adebayo, Jimmy Butler.

2022:  Butler, Spoelstra (coach).

2023: Adebayo.

2024: Adebayo.

* – Did not play due to injury.

** – Replacement starter.

#fortlauderdale, #fortlauderdalemortgage, #fortlauderdalemortgagelender, #fortlauderdalemortgagerates #fortlauderdalemortgagebroker